NASA TV to Live CubeSat Launch Events

NASA TV to Live CubeSat Launch Events

National Reconnaissance Office (NRO) and NASA supported CubeSats are booked to launch on board a United Launch Alliance Atlas V rocket at 8:49 am EDT (5:49 am PDT) Thursday, Oct. 8, from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California. Prelaunch media briefings and launch discourse coverage will air live on NASA Television and the office’s website.

NASA TV Live coverage of the CubeSat launch will begin on Thursday at 8:29 am EDT.

NASA will have two prelaunch briefings in Vandenberg on Wednesday, Oct. 7. The main instructions will highlight the developing significance of CubeSats in investigation and technology advancement and will begin at 1 pm EDT (10 am PDT). The second preparation, at 2 pm EDT (11 am PDT), will cover the five NASA-related CubeSats.

Four of the CubeSats are NASA-supported and nine are NRO-supported, one of which was created with NASA financing. All will be flown over the NRO’s Government Rideshare’s Advanced Concepts Experiment (GRACE), which is an assistant payload on board the NROL-55 mission.

The CubeSat created with NASA subsidizing will assess the capacity to point a little satellite precisely as it shows information exchange by laser at rates of up to 200 Mb/s – a variable of 100 increment over current top of the line CubeSat correspondences frameworks. The NASA-supported CubeSats will test new little satellite control and interchanges frameworks, Earth perceptions, novice radio correspondences and a X-Band radio science transponder.

These CubeSats additionally incorporate the first to be planned, constructed and worked by understudies in Alaska and the first from Native American tribal undergrads.

Little satellites, including CubeSats, are assuming an undeniably bigger part in investigation, technology show, exploratory examination and instructive examinations at NASA.

Media inspired by partaking in the briefings by phone or to plan a meeting must contact Joshua Buck at 202-358-1130 or jbuck@nasa.gov by 8 pm EDT, Tuesday, Oct. 6. Inquiries additionally can be submitted by means of Twitter amid the briefings utilizing the hashtag #askNASA.

Media may acquire access identifications by reaching Capt. Selena Rodts, Air Force Base Public Affairs in Vandenberg, at 805-606-3595 or selena.rodts.1@us.af.mil and presenting the essential data by twelve PDT on Oct. 6. U.S. media must give their full legitimate name, date of conception, driver’s permit number and state, media association and phone number. Substantial legitimate photograph distinguishing proof will be required for all media upon landing in Vandenberg.

For more information about NASA TV’s CubeSats launch Live coverage, visit:

October 8th, 2015 by